17th COLOSS Conference (2021 COLOSS eConference)

You are here:

DATE/TIME:

Date(s) - October 14, 2021 - October 15, 2021

LOCATION:

ZOOM

REGISTRATION:

Registration fee: USD 30.00

Registration deadline: Friday, September 17 (23.59 CET)

REGISTER NOW

WHO CAN REGISTER:

COLOSS members only!

An individual cannot register for the 2021 COLOSS eConference if he/she is not member of COLOSS.

COLOSS is open to any scientific professional (e.g. researchers, veterinarians, extension agents) interested in the well-being of bees.

To request COLOSS membership, please go HERE; please note that the approval process may take several days, so request membership well in advanced of the conference registration deadline.

HOW TO PARTICIPATE:

Registered participants will receive instructions on how to join via Zoom prior to the event. There is no need to create a log-in with Zoom.

Registered participants will need a computer or smart device with internet connectivity.

MAIN EVENT TOPICS:

Updates from COLOSS Core Projects & Task Forces

Submitted Rapid Presentations and accompanying Abstracts by registered participants

CP & TF WORKSHOPS:

Core Projects and Task Forces will host a workshop between September 27 and October 11 that is open to all registered conference participants.

Registered participants will receive instructions on how to join these workshops a few days prior to the event, so please mark the timings of when they will occur in your calendar.

US CDT = United States Central Daylight Time
CEST = Central European Summer Time
ICT = Indochina Time

Monitoring (08.00 US CDT / 15.00 CEST, 20.00 ICT, 21 September 2020)
B-RAP 1* (11.00 US CDT / 18.00 CEST, 21.00 ICT, 21 September 2020)
B-RAP 2* (01.00 US CDT / 08.00 CEST, / 13.00 ICT, 5 October 2020)
Small Hive Beetle (08.00 US CDT / 15.00 CEST, 20.00 ICT, 22 September 2020)
Nutrition (09.00 US CDT / 16.00 CEST, 21.00 ICT, 22 September 2020)
Viruses (08.00 US CDT / 15.00 CEST, 20.00 ICT, 24 September 2020)
Survivors (08.00 US CDT / 15.00 CEST, 20.00 ICT, 28 September 2020)
Velutina (09.00 US CDT / 16.00 CEST, 21.00 ICT, 28 September 2020)
Apitox (08.00 US CDT / 15.00 CEST, 20.00 ICT, 29 September 2020)
RNSBB (08.00 US CDT / 15.00 CEST, 20.00 ICT, 30 September 2020)
Varroa (08.00 US CDT / 15.00 CEST, 20.00 ICT, 5 October 2020)

*B-RAP 1 and B-RAP 2 workshops are identical, and occur on different dates at different times to encourage participation from around the globe.

PRESENTATIONS & ABSTRACTS:

Registered participants are invited to present their scientific work to the 2021 COLOSS eConference in the form of a recorded Rapid Presentation and a corresponding written Abstract. Submission of a Rapid Presentation and Abstract is not required to participate in the Conference.

Rapid Presentations viewed during the conference will be selected by an evaluation committee consisting of COLOSS Executive Committee members. They will also be available for viewing by conference participants for 2weeks after the conference on a secured conference page. Rapid Presentations not selected by the evaluation committee to be showcased during the conference will also be available for viewing by conference participants for 2 weeks after the conference.

Only registered participants will be allowed to view the recordings (i.e. viewing by the general public will not be allowed). Viewing instructions will be provided during the conference.

All abstracts of presentations given or uploaded will be included in the 2021 COLOSS eConference Proceedings, which will be made publicly available on the COLOSS website after the conference.

Abstract:

Participants should submit their written abstract during the registration process. The deadline for registration and abstract submission is Friday, September 17 (23.59 CET). There will be no exceptions.

The abstract should include the names and affiliations of each contributor to the research being communicated during the Rapid Presentation.

The body of the abstract should be no more than 3,000 characters, including spaces.

Rapid Presentation:

Participants can submit a recording of their Rapid Presentation up to two weeks after registration has closed. The deadline for Rapid Presentation submission is Friday, October 1 (23.59 CET).

Specific rules are based on the University of Queensland’s Three Minute Thesis. The presentation should:

  1. Be no more than 3 minutes in length.
  2. Include one static Powerpoint Slide (i.e. no slide transitions, no animations).

Detailed instructions on how to create and upload your recorded Rapid Presentation using Panopto Recorder can be found .

REGISTRATION FEE:

Payment of the registration fee should be made during the registration process (you will be redirected to an Auburn University site for payment).

Payment of registration fee is due Friday, September 17 (23.59 CET), the same time as the registration deadline.

DEADLINES:

Conference registration & abstract submission: Friday, September 17 (23.59 CET)

Conference registration fee: Friday, September 17 (23.59 CET)

Rapid presentation upload: Friday, October 1 (23.59 CET)

No late registrations (including submissions) will be allowed due to the logistics required to organize this online event.

REGISTER NOW

QUESTIONS?

If you have questions concerning the conference, please reach out:

General online registration and Presentation upload – Jan Maehl (jan.maehl@coloss.org)

General COLOSS – Maria Bouga (mbouga@aua.gr) or Geoff Williams (williams@auburn.edu)

Recording of Rapid Presentations – Jack Rowe (wjr0001@auburn.edu)

Payment of registration fee – Allison Thompson (aat0009@auburn.edu)

Personal Info
Personal Info
Personal Info
Personal Info
2021/10/14 15:00:00